Professionally-led online support
groups for Canadians affected by cancer

Online Support Groups  Open for Registration

  All our online support groups are full and there is no opening for enrolment at the moment.

If you haven't registered with us before, please register with us here and tell us about your needs. We will organize upcoming groups based on needs and will notify you by email.


Currently Running   Registration is Closed

Group Ends
Support Group for COVID related Anxiety: All Cancer Types

As the COVID-19 pandemic unfolds, we are all faced with new worries, on top of the stress and anxiety that normally comes with a cancer diagnosis and treatment. This online support group focuses on managing covid-19 specific anxieties and learning to tolerate uncertainty during these difficult times. The group will utilize specific tools and techniques to help participants learn to accept feelings, tolerate distress and move forward with grace despite not knowing what lies ahead.

There are a total of 8 weekly sessions and each session includes a specific skill-building topic based on a published manual. Weekly chapters will be delivered by email and participants can complete it at their own pace prior to each weekly session.

In addition, this support group will include a research component to evaluate the usefulness of a new artificial intelligence system (AI) built into this group. The AI will review texts posted during the session and help facilitators identify and respond to group members' emotional needs more effectively.

The group start date is planned for Tuesday, May 26 and will run for 8 weeks for approximately 90 minutes at the following times:

9:00 AM to 10:30 AM Pacific

10:00 AM to 11:30 AM Mountain

11:00 AM to 12:30 PM Central

12:00 PM to 1:30 PM Eastern

1:00 PM to 2:30 PM Atlantic

Please register if you are seeking support in this area and interested in connecting with other cancer patients with similar experiences.

 

14-Jul-2020
Active Treatment Support Group-All Cancer Types

This is an online support group for patients who are actively receiving treatment for their cancer (or in follow up related to their treatment). This includes surgical, chemotherapy and radiation treatments for cancer.

There are a total of 8 weekly sessions and each session includes a specific skill-building topic based on a published cancer manual. Weekly chapters will be delivered by email to participants which may take up to 15 minutes to read and participants can complete it at their own pace prior to each weekly session.

In addition, this active treatment support group will include a research component to evaluate the usefulness of a new artificial intelligence system (AI) built into this group.  The AI will review texts posted during the session and help facilitators identify and respond to group members' emotional needs more effectively.

The group start date is planned for Wednesday, May 27 and will run for 8 weeks (no group on Wed July 1st) for approximately 90 minutes at the following times:

9:30 AM to 11:00 AM Pacific

10:30 PM to 12:00 PM Mountain (Alberta and Saskatchewan)

11:30 PM to 1:00 PM Central

12:30 PM to 2:00 PM Eastern

1:30 PM to 3:00 PM Atlantic

Please register if you are seeking support in this area and interested in connecting with other cancer patients with similar experiences.

22-Jul-2020
Advanced Cancer Support Group

This is an online support group for patients who have advanced cancer. Being diagnosed with advanced cancer or finding out the cancer has returned or spread can feel quite overwhelming. This group offers informational, educational support and skill building exercises to help patients cope better with stress. Weekly chapters based on a published cancer manual will be delivered by email to each participant which may take up to 15 minutes to read and participants can complete it at their own pace prior to each weekly session.

In addition, this support group will include a research component to evaluate the usefulness of a new artificial intelligence system (AI) built into this group.  The AI will review texts posted during the session and help facilitators identify and respond to group members' emotional needs more effectively.

The group start date is planned for Wednesday, June 10 and will run once a week for 8 weeks.  Note there will be no group on July 1st and the last session will be August 5th.  Each session will be 90 minutes in duration at the following times:

12:30 PM to 2:00 PM Pacific

1:30 PM to 3:00 PM Mountain

2:30 PM to 4:00 PM Central

3:30 PM to 5:00 PM Eastern

4:30 PM to 6:00 PM Atlantic

Please register if you are seeking support in this area and interested in connecting with other cancer patients with similar experiences

05-Aug-2020