Professionally-led online support
groups for Canadians affected by cancer

Online Support Groups  Open for Registration

  All our online support groups are full and there is no opening for enrolment at the moment.

If you haven't registered with us before, please register with us here and tell us about your needs. We will organize upcoming groups based on needs and will notify you by email.


Currently Running   Registration is Closed

Group Ends
Post Treatment Support Group - All Cancer Types

We are now enrolling participants for an online support group for all cancer patients who have completed treatment.

This is a support group with weekly skill building topics based on a published cancer manual.  Weekly chapters are delivered to your inbox which may take up to 15 minutes to read plus extra time for the exercise in which participants can complete at their own pace prior to each weekly session.

In addition, this support group will include a research component to evaluate the usefulness of a new artificial intelligence system (AI) built into this group.  The AI will review texts posted during the session and help facilitators identify and respond to group members' emotional needs more effectively.

The group start date is planned for Thursday, October 15, 2020 and will run for 8 weeks for approximately 90 minutes at the following times:

10:00 am to 11:30 pm PDT - Pacific

11:00 am to 12:30 am MDT - Mountain and CST for Saskatchewan

12:00 pm to 1:30 pm CDT - Central

1:00 pm to 2:30 pm EDT - Eastern

2:00 pm to 3:30 pm ADT - Atlantic

Please register if you are seeking support in this area and interested in connecting with other cancer survivors with similar experiences.

03-Dec-2020
Active Treatment Support Group-All Cancer Types

This is an online support group for patients who are actively receiving treatment for their cancer (or in follow up related to their treatment). This includes surgical, chemotherapy and radiation treatments for cancer.

There are a total of 8 weekly sessions and each session includes a specific skill-building topic based on a published cancer manual. Weekly chapters will be delivered by email to participants which may take up to 15 minutes to read and participants can complete it at their own pace prior to each weekly session.

In addition, this active treatment support group will include a research component to evaluate the usefulness of a new artificial intelligence system (AI) built into this group.  The AI will review texts posted during the session and help facilitators identify and respond to group members' emotional needs more effectively.

The group start date is planned for Monday, October 19 and will run for 8 weeks for approximately 90 minutes at the following times:

12:30 AM to 2:00 PM Pacific

1:30 PM to 3:00 PM Mountain (Alberta and Saskatchewan)

2:30 AM to 4:00 PM Central

3:30 PM to 5:00 PM Eastern

4:30 PM to 6:00 PM Atlantic

Please register if you are seeking support in this area and interested in connecting with other cancer patients with similar experiences.

07-Dec-2020
Insomnia Education and Support Group

This is an online educational support group for all cancer patients and survivors with any diagnosis and stage whom are having chronic problems with sleep (insomnia).  Participants will be asked to track their sleep patterns in an online diary for 7 days for each week the group is in session. The online sleep diary will be viewed by the facilitator and sleep related concerns shared by group members will be addressed during the weekly session.

This support group will include weekly skill building topics based on a published cancer manual on sleep. Weekly chapters will be sent by email which includes reading materials and exercises which participants can complete at their own pace. In addition, this support group will include a research component to evaluate the usefulness of a new artificial intelligence system (AI) built into this group.  The AI will review texts posted during the session and help facilitators identify and respond to group members' emotional needs more effectively.

The group start date is planned for Tuesday, October 27th, 2020 and the group will run for 6 weeks for approximately 90 minutes.

Please note your time zone:

12:30 PM to 2:00 PM PDT - Pacific

1:30 PM to 3:00 PM MDT - Mountain and CST for Saskatchewan

2:30 PM to 4:00 PM CDT - Central

3:30 PM to 5:00 PM EDT - Eastern

4:30 PM to 6:00 PM ADT - Atlantic

Please register if you are seeking support in this area and interested in learning more about managing your insomnia.

01-Dec-2020
Caregiver Support Group

This is an online support group for caregivers who are caring for family members and/or friends with any cancer diagnosis and stages. The support group includes skill building topics based on a published cancer manual. Weekly chapters are delivered by email to each participant which may take up to 15 minutes to read and participants can complete it at their own pace prior to the next session. 

In addition, this support group will include a research component to evaluate the usefulness of a new artificial intelligence system (AI) built into this group.  The AI will review texts posted during the session and help facilitators identify and respond to group members' emotional needs more effectively.

The first session will start on Wednesday Oct 28 . The session will occur weekly for a total of 8 weeks. Each session lasts for approximately 90 minutes at the following times:

9:30 PM to 11:00 AM Pacific (PDT)

10:30 PM to 12:00 PM Mountain (MDT and SK)

11:30 PM to 1:00 PM Central (CDT)

12:30 PM to 2:00 PM Eastern (EDT)

1:30 PM to 3:00 PM Atlantic (ADT)

Please register if you are interested in connecting with other caregivers.

23-Dec-2020
Restoring Body Image & Sexual Health After Cancer Support Group - Ontario Only

For many women, a diagnosis of cancer and its treatment can have a significant impact on body image, emotional well-being, sexual health and relationships, even after treatments have finished. This support group will help women with cancer to address concerns about body image and sexuality. 

This group is for Residents of Ontario only. A research component is included in the group to evaluate the usefulness of a new artificial intelligence system (AI) built into this group.  The AI will review texts posted during the session and help facilitators identify and respond to group members' emotional needs more effectively.

The start date is planned for Wednesday, October 28, from 11am-12:30pm EDT and the group will run for 8 weeks for approximately 90 minutes.

A similar group will be offered to Canadians from all provinces and will start in a few weeks time.

Please register if you are interested in connecting with other patients living with cancer.

16-Dec-2020
debriefing body image group

This is a debriefing group

16-Dec-2020