Professionally-led online support
groups for Canadians affected by cancer

Online Support Groups  Open for Registration

Group Last Day to Register

This is an online support group for caregivers who are caring for family members and/or friends with any cancer diagnosis and stages. The support group includes skill building topics based on a published cancer manual. Weekly chapters are delivered by email to each participant which may take up to 15 minutes to read and participants can complete it at their own pace prior to the next session. 

The first session will start on Thursday April 16th. The session will occur weekly for a total of 8 weeks. Each session lasts for approximately 90 minutes at the following times:

11:30 AM to 1:00 PM Pacific (PDT)

12:30 AM to 2:00 PM Mountain (MDT and SK)

1:30 PM to 3:00 PM Central (CDT)

2:30 PM to 4:00 PM Eastern (EDT)

3:30 PM to 5:00 PM Atlantic (ADT)

4:00 PM to 5:30 PM Newfoundland (NDT)

Please register if you are interested in connecting with other caregivers.

15-Apr-2020

For many women, a diagnosis of cancer and its treatment can have a significant impact on body image, emotional well-being, sexual health and relationships, even after treatments have finished. This support group will help women with breast cancer to address concerns about body image and sexuality. 

The group start date is planned for Wednesday, April 15 and the group will run for 8 weeks for approximately 90 minutes.

Please note your time zone:

12:30 AM to 2:00 PM Pacific

1:30 PM to 3:00 PM Mountain (and Saskatchewan)

2:30 PM to 4:00 PM Central

3:30 PM to 5:00 PM Eastern

4:30 PM to 6:00 PM Atlantic

5:00 PM to 6:30 PM NDT Newfoundland / Labrador

Please register if you are interested in connecting with other patients living with breast cancer.

14-Apr-2020

  Help! There are no groups for me...

If none of the groups above suit your needs and availability and you haven't registered with us before, please register with us here and we will do our best to coordinate an online support group for you.


Currently Running   Registration is Closed

Group Ends
Fear of Cancer Recurrence Support Group

Fear of a cancer recurrence is real, and it is a common reaction for people that have been diagnosed with and completed their cancer treatment.

This online educational support group will have weekly sessions based on a resource and activity handout. The sessions will include a review of situations where fear of cancer recurrence may occur.  Therefore, this group is best suited for survivors who are mentally prepared to face the fear and committed to make a change with the support of the group facilitator.  During the group, tools and techniques will be provided to participants to build their ability to cope with stress, address emotions and promote recovery.

The group start date is planned for Thursday, March 26 2020 and the group will run for 8 weeks for approximately 90 minutes.

Please note your time zone:

9:30 AM to 11:00 AM Pacific

10:30 AM to 12:00 PM Mountain (including Saskatchewan)

11:30 AM to 13:00 PM Central 

12:30 AM to 14:00 PM Eastern

13:30 PM to 14:00 PM Atlantic

Please register if you are seeking support in this area and interested in connecting with other cancer patients with similar experiences.

14-May-2020
Insomnia Education and Support Group

This is an online educational support group for all cancer patients and survivors with any diagnosis and stage whom are having chronic problems with sleep (insomnia).

Participants will be asked to track their sleep patterns in an online diary for 7 days for each week the group is in session. The online sleep diary will be viewed by the facilitator and sleep related concerns shared by group members will be addressed during the weekly session.

This is an educational support group with weekly skill building topics based on a published cancer manual on sleep. Weekly chapters will be sent by email which includes 30 minutes of reading materials plus extra time for the exercise.  Participants can complete these activities at their own pace prior to each weekly session.

The group start date is planned for Tuesday, April 7th, 2020 and the group will run for 6 weeks for approximately 90 minutes.

Please note your time zone:

10:00 AM to 11:30 AM PDT - Pacific

11:00 AM to 12:30 PM MDT - Mountain 

12:00 PM to 1:30 PM CDT - Central

1:00 PM to 2:30 PM EDT - Eastern

2:00 PM to 3:30 PM ADT - Atlantic

2:30 PM to 4:00 PM NDT - Newfoundland

Please register if you are seeking support in this area and interested in learning more about managing your insomnia.

12-May-2020
Expressive Art Support Group

This is an art-based support group for cancer patients and survivors with any diagnosis and stages. Group members will express themselves using different art techniques, including digital painting and photography. No art experience is necessary!  

The group start date is planned to start on Thursday, April 9 and the group will run for 8 weeks for approximately 90 minutes.

Please note your time zone:

10:30 AM to 12:00 PM Pacific
11:30 AM to 1:00 PM Mountain
12:30 PM to 2:00 PM Central
1:30 PM to 3:00 PM Eastern
2:30 PM to 4:00 PM Atlantic
3:00 PM to 4:30 PM NDT (Newfoundland & Labrador)

28-May-2020